Community Service Scholars

Scholarship Requirements and Expectations

Responsibilities

  • Maintain a minimum GPA of 2.75
  • Attend a Orientation and Service Site Selection Meeting in April of 2017
  • Enroll at IUPUI during the current academic year for at least 9 credit hours each semester
  • Represent IUPUI in a positive manner while completing four service hours per week at your assigned community partner site
  • Enroll in a service learning course, PHST P330 (Topics in Philanthropy) with other Community Service Scholars in the fall semester
  • Plan and implement César Chávez Day of Service with the CSS team
  • Attend mandatory scholar trainings/meetings on Fridays twice a month from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.
  • Act as a site leader at various campuswide service events, including SECRET Service Day, United Way Day of Caring, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service, and César Chávez Day of Service
  • Attend an overnight Service Scholar Retreat in September

Dates

  • All Scholar Orientation: Friday, August 25, 2017 from 1 - 7 p.m.
  • All Scholar Welcome Event: Thursday, September 7, 2017 from 4 - 5:30 p.m.
  • All Scholar Overnight Retreat: TBD, Friday-Saturday in September
  • Bi-Weekly Meetings: 3-5 p.m. on each date
    • Friday, September 8, 2017
    • Friday, September 22, 2017
    • Friday, October 6, 2017
    • Friday, October 20, 2017
    • Friday, November 3, 2017
    • Friday, November 17, 2017
    • Friday, December 1, 2017
    • Friday, January 12, 2018
    • Friday, January 26, 2018
    • Friday, February 9, 2018
    • Friday, February 23, 2018
    • Friday, March 2, 2018
    • Friday, March 23, 2018
    • Friday, April 6, 2018
  • SECRET Service Day:  Saturday, September 9, 2017
  • United Way Day of Caring: Saturday, October 21, 2017
  • MLK, Jr. Day of Service: Monday, January 15, 2018
  • Cesar Chavez Day of Service: Saturday, March 31, 2018